Again with the Sex and Babies

Not only has that new-mother dove come back to my windowsill, she even put the sign out –  even though it was just last week she got her babies launched – and all this just as I was getting ready to lift the sash and scour the whole length of wood, the babies having used it as a combination rec room and potty chair for two weeks, not moving a muscle ’til Mom gave ’em the big nudge and they took flight at last.

It just seems weird to me. I was expecting her to be joining the Y or signing up for a course in Bug Finding but here she is again.

Not that she’s paying me any mind. All day yesterday she looked at me like I was wallpaper, fixed as she was on the Hoochie Dance she kept doing every time Mr. Pointytail came around. He’d stick out his chest and start bobbing his head like a hip dude at a jazz club, then – boom!  –  the deed was done. Several times in fact. Then he began showing up with all these twigs which she took from him twig by twig to form a nest much bigger  than the nest she had last time.

Just now when I leaned in close Poppa, above here, took off in alarm. Not Momma though. She is here for the duration. She fixed me with a look I recognized as a special girl-to-girl telegram. “Here we go again,” is what it said.

I could identify.