Hop on Pop

The man we’re celebrating this Fathers Day had just one suit the year this picture was taken. It was bought for his middle school graduation. That was fine with him. We’ve been married 40 years today and in all that time I have never heard him utter a single boast. I remember before his 25th college reunion he didn’t want to fill out the survey. “Look I’ll read the questions and write down your responses,” I said, and took out my pen.

“It’s asking for your special achievements. “Leave it blank,” he said.  “Or else put ‘My family.’” “It asks if you’ve served on the Board of Directors of any companies. You have!” ” I said. “Leave it blank,”  he said.

He doesn’t care if the world thinks him successful. It just doesn’t matter to him. I remember asking him that day how many suits he had now. “One,” he said. “One that I can wear.”

The year our son was going into 8th grade he spent all eight weeks at a summer camp in the Berkshires.  On that first Visiting Day, most of the other campers had parents with fancy cars. At one point we found ourselves next to the basketball court where a lone father in fancy shoes and a Versace shirt was shooting baskets. David had on shorts and his Dr. Seuss T-shirt with Hop on Pop stenciled on the front.  I knew he wanted to shoot with our son, but was holding back, not wishing to interrupt this well-dressed dad. “Go on out there!” I said under my breath. “This guy’s just some cardiologist! ”

He laughed. He knew what I meant. I meant, “Some rich guy in fancy clothes? Some rich guy is no match for a man with just one suit.”

Happy Fathers Day Old Dave! And Happy 40 Years With TT who loves you even more now than she did when she snapped this picture.