RSS

Contagion!

15 Feb

I was sick for two weeks before it occurred to me to seek

treatment.

The coughing was unbelievable. It got so I didn’t have a friend in the whole six-state area.

Plus, it hurt.

The day I coughed my lungs up I finally knew I needed to be seen.

coughin' my brains out

I went in to Urgent Care and the first thing they did was slap this mask on me.

photo (15)

I look like some sad sort of ‘Adopt Me!’ Dog don’t I though? And the mask doesn’t go at all with my whimsical ivory boa.

I thought this was bad.

Until…

Until…

Until …to take a chest X-ray they gave me a different mask and made me wear this:

A johnny! (And it wasn’t even this year’s model)!

photo (14)

 
14 Comments

Posted by on February 15, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

14 responses to “Contagion!

  1. Joan

    February 15, 2013 at 10:10 am

    Looks like more than your lungs popped out. What is that shape at top center?

     
    • Terry Marotta

      February 15, 2013 at 11:18 am

      Oh yes! I failed to mention: stomach, a nice matched pair of kidneys, intestines..

       
  2. rjmaloney

    February 15, 2013 at 11:39 am

    As Mother Rabbit said to Peter “Poor thing Poor thing” and poured him some camomile tea!

     
    • Terry Marotta

      February 16, 2013 at 12:26 pm

      Mother Rabbit yeah! That’s all we’re asking for most of the time isn’t it though Becky? Some solicitous clucking-over is all we crave ….

       
  3. Carol Youngclaus

    February 15, 2013 at 1:18 pm

    Feel better, Terry. I had it too, for a while, and I’m still not done with coughing (though it’s not anywhere near bad enough to inspire me to don one of those chic hospital gowns).

     
    • Terry Marotta

      February 16, 2013 at 12:25 pm

      Thanks Carol. The costume change was actually fun!

       
  4. Gwen P. Straub

    February 15, 2013 at 3:47 pm

    Even with the masks, Ter, you look just like your baby picture!

     
    • Terry Marotta

      February 16, 2013 at 12:24 pm

      maybe people DON’T change. I like thinking this. It makes me feel that my grandfather gone so long and knowing me only with my little-kid tummy and my black tangle of curls might also know me today if he stopped back in on us here

       
  5. Chris Noble

    February 15, 2013 at 6:03 pm

    I give thanks every time I am sick and see a doctor, every time I have to put on one of those johnnys. I could have been born in a century before the 20th, or in some less fortunate parts of the world today.

     
    • Terry Marotta

      February 16, 2013 at 12:23 pm

      You are right to observe this Chris. I felt instantly better. You feel instantly better when someone offeres to make you his or her problem don’t you? Even for only w while

       
  6. nicole

    February 15, 2013 at 10:23 pm

    hope you are all better!!! you still look great in the pics.. and with the mask. :0)

     
    • Terry Marotta

      February 16, 2013 at 12:21 pm

      ha ha thanks Nicole. The mask makes me look BETTER than I normally look. It was fun

       
  7. Timothy Winn

    February 15, 2013 at 10:53 pm

    Hope you’re all better now buddy! The baffled ‘Johnny Face’ is classic.

     
    • Terry Marotta

      February 16, 2013 at 12:20 pm

      I’n not all better Tim but am having a nice wallow in it :-)

       

Leave a Reply

 
Exit Only

Because one minute you're a baby and the next you're getting the senior discount - and there's no reversing direction!

Flaming Honesty

By James Christopher Darling

Something Like a Storybook

This is where Morgan Bradham shares.

Days Like What

There are 24hrs in a day, here are mine.

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

The Freelance Retort

Because one minute you're a baby and the next you're getting the senior discount - and there's no reversing direction!

uppervalleygirl

Another Good Day in Rural America . . . . . . . © 2012, 2013, 2014 Ann Aikens ~ all rights reserved

Eating The Week

Week-size morsels of the stuff we eat

Exit Only

Because one minute you're a baby and the next you're getting the senior discount - and there's no reversing direction!

Flaming Honesty

By James Christopher Darling

Something Like a Storybook

This is where Morgan Bradham shares.

Days Like What

There are 24hrs in a day, here are mine.

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

The Freelance Retort

Because one minute you're a baby and the next you're getting the senior discount - and there's no reversing direction!

uppervalleygirl

Another Good Day in Rural America . . . . . . . © 2012, 2013, 2014 Ann Aikens ~ all rights reserved

Eating The Week

Week-size morsels of the stuff we eat

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 259 other followers

