RSS

Your Kids: They Judge You

30 Jul

Soap-bubbleTell you what: Admit nothing to your grown children, for they will surely judge you. Here’s a scene that took place at my house last weekend:

It was midnight up in the country and my grown child and I were just straightening things up after watching a House of Cards episode when, standing under the light that hangs over the dining room table, he suddenly went “Whaaaat?”

What what?” I said.

“What is THAT thing?” he said, indicating a tiny sphere bobbling about in the warm currents of air. Think of a snow globe that a home-décor-minded mouse might set out in his hole come the holidays.

 “Is it alive? Is it attached to something? The ceiling?” he said. He passed his hand above it. No thread, or web, or filament held it.

He let it land on his hand and touched it. “It has… body. And – ew, it feels greasy. But it’s not a soap bubble….”

Just then it burst, as I was trying to take it from his hand into mine and we knew that’s exactly what was.

“But what’s a soap bubble doing way over here? And at this hour? I mean where is it FROM?’

I swallowed. I knew what was coming and so armed myself in my breeziest manner:

“Oh earlier tonight before you got here I just put a bottle of Dawn in the blender.”

There was a silence followed by that mild look of incredulity your grown kids always give you when they question your choices.

Why?” he finally managed to say. “Why did you put a bottle of dishwashing liquid in the blender?”

This time I went for a jaunty matter-of-factness. “I was dyeing it,” I said.

“Dyeing the dishwashing liquid? OK, Mum: This is a whole new level of crazy, even for you.”

“Not at all,” I countered. “I dye all my liquid soaps if I don’t like their color, hand soaps, bath gels, all of them. Dad bought this transparent dishwashing liquid and it just looked so dull to me and I mean, who wants that? I want a dishwashing liquid with a nice deep-amber color. So I add food coloring, one drop of red, two drops of yellow and there we are!  Only tonight they didn’t mix right in the bottle so that’s why I poured the whole thing in the blender.”

“But what happened when you did THAT? It didn’t spill over?”

“Oh it got a little foamy. And when I poured it back into the bottle it had this ‘head’ at the top, like you get with beer: just this layer of tiny peach-colored bubbles. So I left the cap off and I guess that’s how one bubble got to where it was still floating around two hours later and 20 feet away.”

 I smiled at him, with my most confident smile.

“I don’t know, Mum,” he said, shaking his head.

I suppose the guy does realize that I’ve been dyeing my hair since he was in kindergarten but maybe not, and who knows? By the time I’m on my deathbed I may also be found to have a giant tattoo splayed all across my midriff. I may just.

 But hey, I say we should all ‘decorate’ any way we please, because it’s so cheering. 

Just ask that mouse with his little snow globe. 

 
13 Comments

Posted by on July 30, 2014 in humor

 

13 responses to “Your Kids: They Judge You

  1. Bernice Sullivan

    July 30, 2014 at 7:28 am

    When will they ever understand. The little things do matter.

     
  2. Joan

    July 30, 2014 at 8:10 am

    It’s like an “I Love Lucy” episode – that would have gotten much worse! Just imagine the little globes all over the place.

     
    • Terry Marotta

      August 1, 2014 at 5:53 pm

      wow that is TRUE! I can hear Ricky now: “Luc-eeee, what did you do?”

       
  3. rjmaloney

    July 30, 2014 at 2:05 pm

    That is tooo funny Mugsy!

     
  4. John Shanahan

    July 30, 2014 at 3:37 pm

    I can picture you doing that;as memory serves me you were always looking to make that century old classroom at SHS the most colorful and decorative with what was there and with what you brought in.

     
    • Terry Marotta

      August 1, 2014 at 5:52 pm

      Oh John! Thank you for remembering this ! I remember the pale peach paint I chose for the walls, and the sunset mural we put across the back, and the deep orange curtains (curtains!) I made for the windows because the shades were al broken.. I painted that I’m mad, you;re mad we’re all mad here quote by the caterpillar in Alice in Wonderland too. I loved teaching you guys so much I fairly sprang from the bed each morning the quicker to get back to you all!

       
    • Terry Marotta

      August 11, 2014 at 2:58 pm

      John are you at St. Andrew Church in Fort Worth? I found a wonderful letter you wrote to me in 2007 and am curious about your current path.

       
  5. Elaine

    August 1, 2014 at 6:10 pm

    I totally get this. Clear liquid, perish the thought! No imagination in the younger generation :)

     
  6. Andrea Martin

    August 1, 2014 at 9:31 pm

    Loved it! I could picture it and know I would reach for an explanation, too. My son knows how to give me that “are you for real?” look. But I love him anyway. Giving a Victorian music box table to the Lions thrift club shop tomorrow. So, what did I do? I moved all the junk on top of it, on the shelf and all around it so that I could lift the table and bring it to the kitchen area for the guy picking it up tomorrow. Oy! Just put the cold wrap back in the freezer to treat back pain since for now at least I can’t take Tylenol. I know it’s going to hurt tomorrow but I think I see some little upper arm muscles. Or maybe what hangs below has shifted temporarily. :)

     
  7. njcoyle10

    August 2, 2014 at 4:16 pm

    it’s good to keep them on their toes and always wondering…..and they will always have good stories to share!!!!

     
  8. Carolyn Fitzgerald

    August 9, 2014 at 3:50 pm

    Terry, I find that I don’t tell much of anything to my son. It gets all mixed up and causes such a distressing discussion that I simply don’t tell him many things. It is easier that way.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Exit Only

Because one minute you're a baby and the next you're getting the senior discount - and there's no reversing direction!

The Freelance Retort

Because one minute you're a baby and the next you're getting the senior discount - and there's no reversing direction!

uppervalleygirl

Another Good Day in Rural America . . . . . . . © 2012, 2013, 2014 Ann Aikens ~ all rights reserved

Eating The Week

Week-size morsels of the stuff we eat

Exit Only

Because one minute you're a baby and the next you're getting the senior discount - and there's no reversing direction!

The Freelance Retort

Because one minute you're a baby and the next you're getting the senior discount - and there's no reversing direction!

uppervalleygirl

Another Good Day in Rural America . . . . . . . © 2012, 2013, 2014 Ann Aikens ~ all rights reserved

Eating The Week

Week-size morsels of the stuff we eat

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 200 other followers

