RSS

Get Up. Get to Work

21 Jul

writers-blockHere’s another kind of call to arms, as rousing to me as that guy in the last post warbling out his a cappella version of the Marseillaise. I saw it yesterday on Brain Pickings Weekly, a wonderful site that serves up great plate of food for thought every Sunday. Go here to see.

It featured Leonard Cohen and his work habits as a songwriter, which were are interesting in themselves – but what I really liked was the trouble the website’s authors took to gather up what other writers and musicians have said about so-called inspiration:

Composer Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky: “A self-respecting artist must not fold his hands on the pretext that he is not in the mood.”

Novelist Isabel Allende: “Show up, show up, show up, and after a while the muse shows up, too.”

Painter Chuck Close: Inspiration is for amateurs – the rest of us just show up and get to work.”

Author and essayist E.B. White: “A writer who waits for ideal conditions under which to work will die without putting a word on paper.”

Victorian novelist Anthony Trollope: “My belief of book writing is much the same as my belief as to shoemaking. The man who will work the hardest at it, and will work with the most honest purpose, will work the best.” (And may we correct the old notion by adding the woman who will work the hardest will also work the best.)

The dailiness of writing – and I write every day, for publication may seem to some like a terrible burden. And sometimes when I am in one of my sad places, it seems that way to me – until I sit down and start tapping away when, like a sweater pulled over the head and quickly turned inside out , it becomes not even just a pleasant task but a pure and certain joy.    

 

 
5 Comments

Posted by on July 21, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

5 responses to “Get Up. Get to Work

  1. Bernice Sullivan

    July 21, 2014 at 7:16 am

    And indeed, you are “a pure and certain joy” to us. Thanks again for a great start to my day.

     
  2. Brian - The Freelance Retort

    July 21, 2014 at 7:42 am

    Nice piece and timely as well, at least for me. I’m sitting here thinking that I need one of those 2 week sabbaticals, where I allow myself to NOT think about anything at all writing related, social Media, self promotion yada yada yada…. To not even allow my brain to fish for the slightest germ of an idea to invade my thoughts. You know, the whole Summer Slacking thing. Then I read this and wa la…instant inspiration!
    Oh, don” get me wrong, I’m still gonna slack, shutting down my writing brain…but now I feel bad about it…..

     
  3. Joan

    July 21, 2014 at 5:18 pm

    I loved meandering around the Brain Pickings, to the extent that I spent so much time there, I forgot I was doing laundry. That’s the exact opposite of “Get Up. Get to Work.” It’s more like Summer Slacking – and there’s nothing wrong with that. Or is there?

     
  4. Gwen P. Straub

    July 27, 2014 at 10:46 pm

    Yes, the difference between the artist and the non-artist – the artist does it!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Exit Only

Because one minute you're a baby and the next you're getting the senior discount - and there's no reversing direction!

The Freelance Retort

Because one minute you're a baby and the next you're getting the senior discount - and there's no reversing direction!

uppervalleygirl

Another Good Day in Rural America . . . . . . . © 2012, 2013, 2014 Ann Aikens ~ all rights reserved

Eating The Week

Week-size morsels of the stuff we eat

Exit Only

Because one minute you're a baby and the next you're getting the senior discount - and there's no reversing direction!

The Freelance Retort

Because one minute you're a baby and the next you're getting the senior discount - and there's no reversing direction!

uppervalleygirl

Another Good Day in Rural America . . . . . . . © 2012, 2013, 2014 Ann Aikens ~ all rights reserved

Eating The Week

Week-size morsels of the stuff we eat

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 201 other followers

