RSS

I Gasped

04 Mar

frozenI don’t often find yourself gasping, but I gasped three whole times this past weekend. 

I  gasped  at the big ‘reveal’ four-fifths of the way through Disney’s  Frozen  when we find out that one of the most  benevolent-seeming characters is actually wicked  down to his toes. (And let me pause and say what a charming movie that is, even without Idina Menzel’s  gorgeous full-throated warble as Elsa. The little snowman with his moveable carrot nose alone!) But you’re just not ready for that drop of evil that spreads its stain all over.

 I gasped again when I went Sunday to witness the beauty of the Chinese performance known as Shen Yun which I saw with my friend Lois, as wise, perceptive, and able-bodied a woman in her mid-80s, as she was when I met her 25 years ago. (Hmmmm, in fact, I think she’s even wiser, and more perceptive, come to think of it.)

I gasped when the curtains part and 20 woman dancers are seen – or rather not seen, since they are at first hidden by a rolling mist – as they crouch on the stage floor, holding aloft ivory-colored pink-tipped lengths of silk that they cause to rapidly flutter like flower blossoms in a soft spring breeze. In a twinkling the mist dissipates and they start to dance in the portion of the program called Lotuses in Bloom. In fact everyone gasped. We gasped as one, and 2,000 of us and remembered why it is we go to seek out communal activities such as you have in a theatre.

 And finally I gasped at the restaurant when this little boy….

DSC_0043

…who has the same name as my husband his grandfather, opened his mouth wide and threatened to pull out his own loose tooth,.

It sent a chill clear through me to see it, I  weep to see him those baby teeth go, and the soft-skinned curve of cheek as well. Too soon ! Too soon do they lost that look! 

David an eye on the big picture

But let us turn to the cheerful theme of NOT hiding your light under a bushel and watch now as Idina-as-Elsa sings this instant classic from Frozen:

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 4, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “I Gasped

  1. Gram

    March 4, 2014 at 8:34 am

    Thank you for the lovely song. Were you at Regis College Sunday evening?

     
  2. louisamayalcatt

    March 4, 2014 at 11:32 am

    I heard it’s a good movie, but with the temps hovering around where they are, I cannot CANNOT bring myself to see a anything called ‘Frozen.” glad you enjoyed it, LMA

     
  3. Joan

    March 4, 2014 at 2:10 pm

    I had 3 teenage uncles when I was a youngster (now they are long gone.) Anyway, one of them told me to tie my loose tooth to a doorknob and then he would slam the door, and out would come the tooth. Oh, and they always told me to watch out for bears and fishes who would do damage to me as they jumped out of the woods or ocean (respectively) — and policemen who would arrest me and put me in jail with only bread and water for sustenance. No wonder I have been afraid of bears, fishes and policemen all my life. Oh, how those rascals laughed when I believed everything they said.

     

Leave a Reply

 
The Freelance Retort

Because one minute you're a baby and the next you're getting the senior discount - and there's no reversing direction!

uppervalleygirl

Another Good Day in Rural America . . . . . . . © 2012, 2013, 2014 Ann Aikens ~ all rights reserved

Eating The Week

Week-size morsels of the stuff we eat

The Freelance Retort

Because one minute you're a baby and the next you're getting the senior discount - and there's no reversing direction!

uppervalleygirl

Another Good Day in Rural America . . . . . . . © 2012, 2013, 2014 Ann Aikens ~ all rights reserved

Eating The Week

Week-size morsels of the stuff we eat

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 198 other followers

