RSS

If a Man Asks for Your Shirt…

03 Oct

brandi takes it offIt doesn’t show poor boundaries that I offered a guy one of my contact lenses, does it?

He came to look at our house to see if there were any way we could air condition such a leaky old ship as this place and arrived a little after our appointment time.

“I’m so sorry I‘m late!” he said. “My contact lens just popped out of my eye on the way over here! I had to pull over and I looked all over the truck but I didn’t find it.”

His eye was watering.

“If you’re like me you can’t see at all,” I said.

“Right!” he said.

“Are yours the extended wear 30-day kind like I have?”

“Yes they are.”

“What magnification?”

“3.75 in that eye,” he said.

“Just a sec,” I said. 

I went to my medicine cabinet, pulled out one of my own 3.75s and gave it to him – and we had a little festival of joy for the poorly visioned then and there.

It isn’t often you can help someone in such a specific way like this. I was glad I could.

 

 
8 Comments

Posted by on October 3, 2013 in humor, yay in general

 

Tags: , , ,

8 responses to “If a Man Asks for Your Shirt…

  1. Joan

    October 3, 2013 at 5:47 pm

    Why am I not surprised? It’s business as usual – but it could only happen to you, no one else. A high five to you.

     
  2. Candi

    October 3, 2013 at 9:54 pm

    Good for you! Great story.

     
  3. floridaborne

    October 4, 2013 at 5:27 pm

    Only 3.75? Mine are over 10 with addon features for a fun-house mirror astigmatism and a prism. . Hopefully he bought you a replacement pair. You’re so fortunate to be able to wear contacts. I went to an eye doctor and asked if I could get a pair of contact lenses. He said, “I wouldn’t fit you for contacts for $100,000.” That’s when $100,000 could buy 2 houses.

     
    • Terry Marotta

      October 9, 2013 at 11:07 am

      over 10 with funhouse features! Oh that sounds awful..!. Now I wil go look at your blog rantingalong which certainly rings a bell with me !

       
  4. Toby Marotta

    October 6, 2013 at 7:01 pm

    Don’t miss the current New Yorker article about our three greatest writers including you-know-who, said to be residing on Cape Cod rather than Ipswich. Or as I prefer to spell it, Ipswitch!

     
    • Terry Marotta

      October 8, 2013 at 12:57 pm

      Your younger brother shamelessly hoards the New Yorkers and he’s in Kentucky with them all week – but I can download the latest on my I-Pad. Can’t WAIT to read this!

      your fan in the east,

      T

       

Leave a Reply

 
The Freelance Retort

Because one minute you're a baby and the next you're getting the senior discount - and there's no reversing direction!

uppervalleygirl

Another Good Day in Rural America . . . . . . . © 2012, 2013, 2014 Ann Aikens ~ all rights reserved

Eating The Week

Week-size morsels of the stuff we eat

The Freelance Retort

Because one minute you're a baby and the next you're getting the senior discount - and there's no reversing direction!

uppervalleygirl

Another Good Day in Rural America . . . . . . . © 2012, 2013, 2014 Ann Aikens ~ all rights reserved

Eating The Week

Week-size morsels of the stuff we eat

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 178 other followers

