RSS

Still Married After All These Years

20 Jun

25 years in

Today is June 20th; it’s my anniversary. Where has the time gone? It seems just a second ago that we were partying our brains out with our two families and shopping for a dress that cost less than $150.

I remember the day itself. I remember spilling a Sloe Gin Fizz on that gown ten seconds into the reception.

Before the receiving line even. Before the guests had even all arrived. Someone handed it to me and I tried to take a sip. I didn’t even know what Sloe Gin was.

I had never worked a 40 hour week. I would begin all that in September when I would start teaching school.

I had just has my wisdom teeth out. I was barely old enough to vote.

Scarier yet, the picture of us both to the left here? It was taken 25 years into the marriage. AND it was 18 years ago now! Where IS It all going? Carpe Diem for sure.

Maybe later today I’ll pull out the old dress and look for that faint pink stain… But where is the girl? Where is that young bridegroom? Henry Thoreau said it: ” Time is but a stream I go a-fishing in. I drink at it; but while I drink I see the sandy bottom and detect how shallow it is. Its thin current slides away, but eternity remains.”

 
15 Comments

Posted by on June 20, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

15 responses to “Still Married After All These Years

  1. Liz

    June 20, 2013 at 6:14 am

    Happy anniversary Terry and David!
    Love,
    Liz

     
  2. Deanna

    June 20, 2013 at 7:02 am

    Happy Anniversary!

     
  3. Frank

    June 20, 2013 at 7:36 am

    A Great reason to Celebrate!! Enjoy your day!

     
  4. Terry Marotta

    June 20, 2013 at 7:50 am

    thanks you sweet folks. At the moment I ma hanging my head upside down off the edge of the bed (prevents kyphosis my chiropractor says ) and my groom is busy with the Sports pages. It’s fun to be old and not have to be at your desk at 8am.. In a sec I’ll remind him that this is our day

     
  5. Morgan

    June 20, 2013 at 8:06 am

    What a beautiful day for a celebration! Have fun Terry and David!

     
  6. Joan

    June 20, 2013 at 9:36 am

    May you have many more anniversaries and days like today for celebrating. your love.

     
  7. leboudreau@comcast.net

    June 20, 2013 at 11:03 am

    This is my aunt…..

     
  8. tobymarotta

    June 20, 2013 at 1:34 pm

    Proud of you from afar, we are

     
    • Terry Marotta

      June 20, 2013 at 2:55 pm

      …as we are of you and Rusty (I think you showed us how!)

       
  9. rjmaloney

    June 20, 2013 at 1:37 pm

    Happy Happy to you both. I’ll raise a glass later to your success in marriage. Right now I raise a cup of coffee! To you!

     
    • Terry Marotta

      June 20, 2013 at 2:54 pm

      ha ha Becky thanks! I’m getting so I like coffee better almost. The kick comes quicker and at little cost :-)

       
  10. Timothy Winn

    June 20, 2013 at 7:42 pm

    Happy Anniversary ‘T’ and David.
    May many more warm, sunny days and long, beloved nights be your’s for years to come.
    May laughter, love and happiness fill those harmonious years.
    Congratulations my friends!

     
  11. Mike McDonough

    June 20, 2013 at 10:38 pm

    Congratulations…many more healthy returns.

     
  12. barbtaub

    June 21, 2013 at 7:03 am

    Why do I have this craving for a sloe gin fizz? Happy Anniversary June bride!

     

Leave a Reply

 
The Freelance Retort

Because one minute you're a baby and the next you're getting the senior discount - and there's no reversing direction!

uppervalleygirl

Another Good Day in Rural America . . . . . . . © 2012, 2013, 2014 Ann Aikens ~ all rights reserved

Eating The Week

Week-size morsels of the stuff we eat

The Freelance Retort

Because one minute you're a baby and the next you're getting the senior discount - and there's no reversing direction!

uppervalleygirl

Another Good Day in Rural America . . . . . . . © 2012, 2013, 2014 Ann Aikens ~ all rights reserved

Eating The Week

Week-size morsels of the stuff we eat

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 193 other followers

