RSS

All’s Right with the World

06 Feb

I THINK I’m finally starting to feel better after this long siege of sickness… I got on a plane over the weekend to visit my awesome sister Nan, WITH my two daughters and my grandbaby.

It was just like the old days sitting around with Nan, funny as she is, smart as she is.

She’s a real catalog girl and it was in a catalog that she managed to find a perfume our mom used to love, not that she could afford to keep herself in perfume or had anywhere to go where she could wear it – I mean the bottle we both remember was 20 years old when we first came upon it and tried putting it on that mean old cat Impy with the hitch in his hip.. It was called Nuit de Noel and Nan found it somewhere on the old “Inert-Net” and now I have it, along with a wonderful note she wrote that just brought back those early years together when we were little.

Mostly though her catalog finds are not sentimental. She has a T-shirt she found in one that riffs off the great old song from the musical Hair. To get the joke you have to remember “This is the Dawning 0f the Age of Aquarius.” The T-shirt’s wry commentary on what the advancing years does to a girl? It says “This is the Dawning of the Age of a Scary Ass.” Hah! How could I not feel better having spent the weekend with Nan AND my two girls AND that little female coming along behind them? Here they are now, first Carrie holding our baby and then Annie in the shades.

the day carrie cut that hairannie poolside cbi

and finally Nan in a boat back when we were younger even than these two.

nan onboard 73

Oh and here’s me. My nice salon do from last week fell apart since last Friday when I looked so awesome but I‘ve got my wig on now and all’s right with the world. ;-)

elvis baby

 
3 Comments

Posted by on February 6, 2013 in humor

 

3 responses to “All’s Right with the World

  1. Joan

    February 6, 2013 at 1:37 pm

    I saw Arpege(“promise her anything, but give her Arpege”) in The Vermont Country Store catalog. It was my favorite.

     
  2. Andrea Martin

    February 6, 2013 at 1:47 pm

    My mother’s favorite which I found for her in Vermont Country Store was Coty’s Lai’mant. I’m now looking for a jasmine scent that isn’t too strong. Terry, I loved the picture of you in your wig! And the girls’ pictures are awesome. It sounded as if Nan is okay and I am happy you got to spend some time with her. Glad also that your hubby is feeling better. Getting stocked up here for the big snowstorm coming on Fri. Will you be home again for that? I was thinking about the Lion now in Wellesley that you were the person to find it and take it to the police (just joking).

     
  3. Grace Boudreau

    February 10, 2013 at 9:04 am

    I love reading your article, I learn so much about mom and you and Grandma. Lots of love to my Aunt .

     

Leave a Reply

 
The Freelance Retort

Because one minute you're a baby and the next you're getting the senior discount - and there's no reversing direction!

uppervalleygirl

Another Good Day in Rural America . . . . . . . © 2012, 2013, 2014 Ann Aikens ~ all rights reserved

Eating The Week

Week-size morsels of the stuff we eat

The Freelance Retort

Because one minute you're a baby and the next you're getting the senior discount - and there's no reversing direction!

uppervalleygirl

Another Good Day in Rural America . . . . . . . © 2012, 2013, 2014 Ann Aikens ~ all rights reserved

Eating The Week

Week-size morsels of the stuff we eat

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 198 other followers

