RSS

Karma

30 Jan

I’m sick now too. First it was a tickle in my throat and then a rumble in my chest, like the sound from the engine room on the Queen Mary. This id what I get for making light of my man’s illness.

I went to bed the other night feeling as bleak as bleak can be, sleeping next to my dead Pope of a husband who had not uttered more than 12 words to me in 24 hours. (That extended whine is here.) But then, the next morning I woke to glory all around me: this sunlight in this room at January’s end. (David’s reclining body in the foreground.)

sunup for the sick

If only I had not, over the last few nights, curled up in the same small nest of bedding as a person who lay spouting like a whale – every cough and sneeze flying straight up into the air and settling in a fine mist all around me.

By evening I had the headache too, and in spite of the 16 kinds of cold medications I took, it was excruciating. In the night I was sure that some evil force had got hold of the plastic-bag-like membrane in which the brain is suspended and was trying to pull the whole thing out through my ear.

This is what I get for making Weekend at Bernie’s style jokes about poor David. It’s my ‘goin’ around comin’ on around for sure.

I had a flu shot back in October so whatever this is it’s presumably not the flu. David, however, did NOT have a flu shot and so presumably does have the flu.

Anyway he’s still pretty miserable. I fetch him tea and toast, but he doesn’t care about eating. Last night we tried to grab a meal out with our girl Annie but he couldn’t even bring himself to have a drink. (what, no alcohol?!) He’s still got that thousand-yard stare, though and now it’s morning again too.

And now we’re home again our workday world with the Poop-Doggy-Dog-Walkers filing past outside our windows, sigh.

I wish we had the view above that we had Sunday morning when we were up north. It sure did raise our spirits, sick or no. But the world these last few days is wrapped in fog and rain – and we’re just here exchanging droplets. :-(

marriage coughs

 
6 Comments

Posted by on January 30, 2013 in family life, humor

 

Tags: , ,

6 responses to “Karma

  1. rjmaloney

    January 30, 2013 at 11:39 am

    AWWWWW!

     
  2. Toby Marotta

    January 30, 2013 at 11:59 am

    If only that 70 Century Street rug could talk…

     
    • Terry Marotta

      January 30, 2013 at 12:38 pm

      Ah right era wrong rug! Your brother Jeffrey has the Century Street rug. This is our old 117 Clark Road rug, tricked out with new fringe… Some stories in these fibers too! ;-)

       
  3. Ned's Blog

    January 30, 2013 at 6:07 pm

    You know, now that I’m done reading this, my throat feels like it has a tickle; and so does my funny bone ;)

     
    • Terry Marotta

      January 31, 2013 at 9:05 am

      Ned what a funny guy you are! I hope you come to the NSNC conference in Hartford this June!

       
      • Ned's Blog

        January 31, 2013 at 12:37 pm

        Thanks, Terry! I’m hoping to, but our fire station has a cook-off around the same time. Hoping they don’t overlap. If so, I’m already committed to the cook-off — a sure sign I should have been committed to begin with! Either way, I hope to catch you at a NSNC conference at some point :)

         

Leave a Reply

 
The Freelance Retort

Because one minute you're a baby and the next you're getting the senior discount - and there's no reversing direction!

uppervalleygirl

Another Good Day in Rural America . . . . . . . © 2012, 2013, 2014 Ann Aikens ~ all rights reserved

Eating The Week

Week-size morsels of the stuff we eat

The Freelance Retort

Because one minute you're a baby and the next you're getting the senior discount - and there's no reversing direction!

uppervalleygirl

Another Good Day in Rural America . . . . . . . © 2012, 2013, 2014 Ann Aikens ~ all rights reserved

Eating The Week

Week-size morsels of the stuff we eat

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 198 other followers

