RSS

Hobbit-y Fun

18 Jan

the rainbow goblinsI guess this Arts & Entertainment week here for me. I saw The Hobbit at the I-Max last night. All 186 minutes of it and I have to say: What a lot of slicing and dicing with hatchets and swords!

The little Hobbit Bilbo Baggins misses his cozy cottage and I missed it too. The larder alone stuffed with cheeses and fruits, bread and barrels of mead, or whatever it was that people drink back in the days of Middle Earth.

The whole thing reminded me of the many times I have read The Rainbow Goblins out loud to a child. (Those are the little imps from that book up top.)

The trolls in the movie are funny. So dimwitted ha ha! (We all love to see dopey people in action. (Well, as long as they’re not like trying to operate on us or fix our cars, that is.))

The elves are vegetarians and that’s funny too; the scene when one of the dwarfs is offered a bit of lettuce by an elf made me laugh right out loud. “I don’t eat green food,” he says with a haughty look.

Gandalf is like God, saving everyone at the last minute all the time.

And Gollum?

gollum

Gollum is just amazing. He looks like Steve Buscemi, with these liquid blue eyes that reveal his humanity. He’s the one I really identity with, quarreling with himself and shuttling between kindly and cruel. He’s how I’m going to look when I’m 100 I know it. Willard Scott I’m ready for my closeup!

Here’s the trailer. Well worth watching :-)

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 18, 2013 in humor, the movies

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “Hobbit-y Fun

  1. charlottecarrendar

    January 18, 2013 at 5:34 am

    I saw it too, when I got back from Hols, and needless to say, it was brilliant. <3 Can't wait for the next one.

     
  2. Timothy Winn

    January 18, 2013 at 1:17 pm

    I started reading the Hobbit and it’s trilogy when I was in the 9th grade. Before that my reading included: The Tarzan novels, The Three Musketeers, The Count of Monte Cristo, Treasure Island; anything adventurous. So, when I was introduced to The Hobbit, The Heavens opened up before me.
    I really enjoyed the ‘Rings’ movies, but never understood why they did’nt start with The Hobbit. I have’nt seen it yet, but I just know I will love it when I do!

     
  3. Timothy Winn

    January 18, 2013 at 1:19 pm

    Oh, by the way, who the heck is ‘Bingo’ Baggins’? L.O.L.

     
  4. Gwen P. Straub

    January 18, 2013 at 3:36 pm

    Why can’t a get the trailers to play, Ter? I clicked the Hobbit and Girls but nothing happens.

     

Leave a Reply

 
The Freelance Retort

Because one minute you're a baby and the next you're getting the senior discount - and there's no reversing direction!

uppervalleygirl

Another Good Day in Rural America . . . . . . . © 2012, 2013, 2014 Ann Aikens ~ all rights reserved

Eating The Week

Week-size morsels of the stuff we eat

The Freelance Retort

Because one minute you're a baby and the next you're getting the senior discount - and there's no reversing direction!

uppervalleygirl

Another Good Day in Rural America . . . . . . . © 2012, 2013, 2014 Ann Aikens ~ all rights reserved

Eating The Week

Week-size morsels of the stuff we eat

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 197 other followers

