RSS

This is Me Since Thursday

24 Nov

I’ve been kind of AWOL and I’ll tell you why.

This is me since Thursday.

I know I should move about some.

It’s cold.

It’s late November.

A mouse has eaten the edge off the hem of my skirts.

Plus I have all this mending.

But I ate so much Thursday, what with the Nantucket Bay scallops

and the buttery corn,

the creamed onions

and that big old turkey roasted to perfection and dry-brined for three days beforehand.

Never mind all the pies, the homemade Anadama rolls, the sugar-butter, the fresh cranberry sauce that sets up all by itself, so much pectin is in the skins of those wee rubilous orbs…

Oh and the savory herbed cubes of bread the bird was stuffed with.

I’m stuffed myself still.

Stuffed even now.

Maybe I’ll just sit out here in the sun a little longer, til that big old wind blows in later today.

Maybe by then I can roll up in my feather bed live off my fat and sleep until spring.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on November 24, 2012 in humor

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “This is Me Since Thursday

  1. moviewriternyu

    November 24, 2012 at 8:33 am

    A little writing will snap you out of your turkey coma. It always works for me. :)

     
    • Terry Marotta

      November 24, 2012 at 9:20 am

      very true! And good luck with your blog.. Love “Deep Thoughts from the Shallow End of the Pool!”

       
      • moviewriternyu

        November 24, 2012 at 9:31 am

        Why thank you. I might’ve written that little catch phrase while in a turkey coma… ;)

         

Leave a Reply

 
The Freelance Retort

Because one minute you're a baby and the next you're getting the senior discount - and there's no reversing direction!

uppervalleygirl

Another Good Day in Rural America . . . . . . . © 2012, 2013, 2014 Ann Aikens ~ all rights reserved

Eating The Week

Week-size morsels of the stuff we eat

The Freelance Retort

Because one minute you're a baby and the next you're getting the senior discount - and there's no reversing direction!

uppervalleygirl

Another Good Day in Rural America . . . . . . . © 2012, 2013, 2014 Ann Aikens ~ all rights reserved

Eating The Week

Week-size morsels of the stuff we eat

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 180 other followers

