RSS

Talk amongst yourselves

21 Nov

Talk amongst yourselves, as our teachers used to tell us when they wanted to nip into the hallway and gossip with a colleague. That’s my way of saying I don’t have much entertainment for you today.

What did I do yesterday that could entertain you or make you laugh?

Not much.

Um. I saw Lincoln after school but that was only awesome and not funny at all  –  unless it’s funny to see what a wonderful wreck is Tommy Lee Jones’s face nowadays, Tommy Lee who Old Dave played football with at Harvard when he looked so nice. (Well, MY Dave STILL looks nice.)

What else?

I got a kick out of studying the Subaru-and Prius-jam in the Whole Foods parking lot yesterday. I couldn’t park!

So I went instead to the good of Stop & Shop at 6 o’clock this morning to beat the crowds, thinking I could fashion a centerpiece out of a few bronze-colored mums and some vegetables: I thought two pomegranates, a few artichokes and some of those nice bumpy squashes that look like the nose on that e Rembrandt self portrait.

BUT wasn’t open yet, and here I thought I was so ahead of myself, having gotten up at 4am to bring a kid into the airport. (Safe travels Hazees!) And now it’s 8 am and here I am three hours late posting.

I have to take a bath, make breakfast, bring two guys to work, and hit Hi-Lo Aerobics by 9:30, all before beginning my real work of the day involving writing for pay, polishing silver, opening the dining room table and standing amidst yards and yards of linen tablecloth which wrinkles as quick as you iron it .

Ah well. Have fun talking  amongst yourselves, as I say. Your stories are doubtless more interesting than mine anyway

 
5 Comments

Posted by on November 21, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

5 responses to “Talk amongst yourselves

  1. rjmaloney

    November 21, 2012 at 1:34 pm

    Don’t you just love the way linen wrinkles? I do and all I can think of is those folks of yore who wore linen all summer and the movie studios depict them all neat and refreshed BUT they would have been sweaty and wrinkled I think. I just love wrinkles; in Tommy Lees face and even in mine. Happy Thanksgiving!

     
    • Terry Marotta

      November 29, 2012 at 9:12 am

      THIS gave me a whole new perspective on BOTH kinds of wrinkles Becky!

       
  2. JohnL

    November 21, 2012 at 1:53 pm

    You may have stumbled upon a great new product idea for Whole Paychex or TJ’s: Prius Jam (smooth and silent), or Prius and Subaru Jam (lumpy with environmental aftereffects, if you catch my drift, wink wink)

     
  3. Gwen Straub

    November 21, 2012 at 11:59 pm

    I don’t think this is the Rembrant self portrait with the nose that resembles lumpy squash. I don’t know how to find and post photos like you do. If you find it, you’ll know it!

     
  4. Terry Marotta

    November 29, 2012 at 12:06 pm

    you know I don’t think it is either! I’ll have to get out my old art books…

     

Leave a Reply

 
Exit Only

Because one minute you're a baby and the next you're getting the senior discount - and there's no reversing direction!

The Freelance Retort

Because one minute you're a baby and the next you're getting the senior discount - and there's no reversing direction!

uppervalleygirl

Another Good Day in Rural America . . . . . . . © 2012, 2013, 2014 Ann Aikens ~ all rights reserved

Eating The Week

Week-size morsels of the stuff we eat

Exit Only

Because one minute you're a baby and the next you're getting the senior discount - and there's no reversing direction!

The Freelance Retort

Because one minute you're a baby and the next you're getting the senior discount - and there's no reversing direction!

uppervalleygirl

Another Good Day in Rural America . . . . . . . © 2012, 2013, 2014 Ann Aikens ~ all rights reserved

Eating The Week

Week-size morsels of the stuff we eat

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 199 other followers

