RSS

As I Lay Dying

26 Sep

Every few hours at unpredictable intervals my computer crashes.

It’s nerve-wracking.

All of a sudden, one by one, within less than three seconds, the applications shut down, email Facebook, Google Maps – whatever I have open on the Internet… And then all the others, Word, Excel and so on.

Goodbye work! Goodbye favorite poems I have saved as Word documents and was just rereading! Goodbye all Word documents I have open!

One by one they say goodbye to me, some never returning, even after the heroic retrieval attempt the system then makes.

It’s like seeing the process of your own dying, only sped up. You were talking – just a second ago you were saying something interesting, or putting a commitment on your Google calendar and then – poof – all goes quiet.

When real death happens, where will I be? It makes you wonder.

I was reflecting on the beauty of the ocean which was right in front of me as I wrote.

Also labeling more of the pictures taken at our family wedding.

And editing newer pictures with Google’s Picasa.

Working on the ABC Fall Newsletter which we hope to get out in three weeks.

And throwing some brightly colored threads of words down for a college recommendation I’ll soon be writing.

Because I’m also childish and distractable I was also looking at the lineup of new shows as presented by yesterday’s New York Times.

At the last system crash I was watching this short clip about the new show Animal Practice, debuting tonight. Hard to think that the last thing I might ever have done on this little laptop was watch the following. (On the other hand though, you gotta love a monkey. :-)

 
8 Comments

Posted by on September 26, 2012 in humor

 

Tags: , , , ,

8 responses to “As I Lay Dying

  1. Wrightson Tongue

    September 26, 2012 at 8:37 am

    Get a Mac.

     
  2. mgdwyer

    September 26, 2012 at 10:21 am

    Do you know W.S. Merwin’s book The Shadow Of Sirius? For some perhaps obscure reasons what you wrote reminds me of a poem called “One of the Butterflies” –

    The trouble with pleasure is the timing
    it can overtake me without warning
    and be gone before I know it is here
    it can stand facing me unrecognized
    while I am remembering somewhere else
    in another age or someone not seen
    for years and never to be seen again
    in this world and it seems that I cherish
    only now a joy I was not aware of
    when it was here although it remains
    out of reach and will not be caught or named
    or called back and if I could make it stay
    as I want to it would turn into pain

     
  3. Morgan

    September 26, 2012 at 10:26 am

    Get an iPad! My husband who hates Apple stuff loves the fact that since I got it (in April) he has not had to come help me fix anything on it. I used to call on him often for all the computer help he had to give me with my old PC.

     
    • Terry Marotta

      September 26, 2012 at 12:56 pm

      Hmmmm food for thought . Morgan I haven’t written back to you since you had your high school reunion . Life is getting too complicated !

       
  4. nick.

    September 26, 2012 at 1:10 pm

    Bill Gates got a Mac years ago; he’s not Mircosoft in the head! Nice post.

     
  5. Bill Sheehan

    September 26, 2012 at 2:17 pm

    In the words of Edna St. Vincent Millay,
    “I shall die, but
    that is all that I shall do for Death.”

    Get a Mac. Really. And an external hard drive for Time Machine backups.

    With all respect to Morgan, iPads are great for content consumption, but not content creation. It can be done, but creating content is much nicer on a keyboard with the ability to multitask.

     
    • Terry Marotta

      October 11, 2012 at 4:05 pm

      I love your sensibility Bill. How could I not know this quote??

       
  6. Morgan

    September 27, 2012 at 8:08 am

    Bill is right…was basically saying that my Apple product (iPad) seems to be trouble-free! Sounds like a Mac should be in your future, Terry!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Exit Only

Because one minute you're a baby and the next you're getting the senior discount - and there's no reversing direction!

The Freelance Retort

Because one minute you're a baby and the next you're getting the senior discount - and there's no reversing direction!

uppervalleygirl

Another Good Day in Rural America . . . . . . . © 2012, 2013, 2014 Ann Aikens ~ all rights reserved

Eating The Week

Week-size morsels of the stuff we eat

Exit Only

Because one minute you're a baby and the next you're getting the senior discount - and there's no reversing direction!

The Freelance Retort

Because one minute you're a baby and the next you're getting the senior discount - and there's no reversing direction!

uppervalleygirl

Another Good Day in Rural America . . . . . . . © 2012, 2013, 2014 Ann Aikens ~ all rights reserved

Eating The Week

Week-size morsels of the stuff we eat

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 200 other followers

