RSS

Clean and Empty

31 Aug

Well, the summer houseguests are gone,and now I’m cleaning and putting the rooms to rights, vacuuming up the hundreds of spider webs that I just KNOW weren’t here two weeks ago (A spider web from the mirror on my bureaus to the curtains on my window!  A spider web WITH A SPIDER, not five feet from the bed, where I have been sleeping all week…

alone….

with David a thousand miles away bringing the wonders of foam to a grateful nation.

The vacuuming part is actually sort of fun. It reminds me of going to Confession in the hard old days when you had such terror about having to report every bad intention never mind every bad act; but afterwards – ah! – You felt so clean! Shriven was the word they used. This house is shriven!

The sleeping-alone part seemed like it might be fun for a change but it hasn’t been.

Oh at first it was cool knowing I had the bed to myself and piling all kinds of things in there with me but after that…  I don’t know.

Last night I tossed and turned.

I miss the old ball and chain and when he gets off that plane at 4pm today I can tell you I will be HAPPY to see him, that wiper-down of counters  and picker-up of sticks outside, that meticulous householder. I suppose he’ll notice right away that I ran over a giant bottle of Nivea with my car. It exploded with a loud crack when it went under the wheels and sprayed its special Super Enriching formula in a 30-foot delta across the driveway.

Yeah. He’ll notice that. He is  one vigilant guy.

 

Here is a picture of him now, keeping watch over our littlest one’s supper that time we took all the kids to Disney World. (Or, come to study it more, he might just be eyeing everyone’s leftovers.)

I hope he even gets here early. I think I’m growing a little odd without him. Can you say Grey Gardens? :-)

There was something cool about old Edith Beale but ice cream in bed taken straight from the cartoon is generally a bad idea. :-)

 
10 Comments

Posted by on August 31, 2012 in humor

 

Tags: , , ,

10 responses to “Clean and Empty

  1. Brian - The Freelance Retort

    August 31, 2012 at 9:22 am

    I never made it through an entire confession. About half way through I would always hear the door open and see the priest shrive himself over to the baptismal font where he would proceed to chant something in Latin while dousing himself with holy water, which I found rude….

     
    • Terry Marotta

      August 31, 2012 at 7:59 pm

      you’re very young. We Pre-Vatican Two-ers would NEVER soent less than the full 5 Our Fathers and 5 Hail Marys’ worth of time telling all…

       
  2. rjmaloney

    August 31, 2012 at 12:39 pm

    Oh my dear; are you really going toward big Edie? Hurry up old Dave!

     
    • Terry Marotta

      August 31, 2012 at 7:58 pm

      Ha ha! All but the boiling swirl of cats defecating in the corners !

       
    • Terry Marotta

      September 7, 2012 at 8:01 pm

      This made me laugh, YOU HAVE NO IDEA how close I come!

       
  3. Diane Fiore

    September 1, 2012 at 5:53 am

    Love the funny twist at the end…..We probably all grow old waiting for something.

     
  4. nicole

    September 7, 2012 at 5:37 pm

    your house is too pretty to become grey gardens!!

     
    • Terry Marotta

      September 7, 2012 at 8:02 pm

      scratch ‘pretty’ and you’re surprised what you sometimes find ! (Once I found a BAT inside the children’s multi-vitamin bottle)

       
      • nicole

        September 7, 2012 at 8:04 pm

        you have so many stories to tell, t!! i love it, and i can n ever get enough….

         

Leave a Reply

 
The Freelance Retort

Because one minute you're a baby and the next you're getting the senior discount - and there's no reversing direction!

uppervalleygirl

Another Good Day in Rural America . . . . . . . © 2012, 2013, 2014 Ann Aikens ~ all rights reserved

Eating The Week

Week-size morsels of the stuff we eat

The Freelance Retort

Because one minute you're a baby and the next you're getting the senior discount - and there's no reversing direction!

uppervalleygirl

Another Good Day in Rural America . . . . . . . © 2012, 2013, 2014 Ann Aikens ~ all rights reserved

Eating The Week

Week-size morsels of the stuff we eat

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 199 other followers

